Friday Cookies

Ghirardelli Brownie Cookies

Ghirardelli Brownie Cookies

When our youngest started attending high school, I decided to bake cookies on Fridays for her to have when she got home from school. It is our special time together to linger over a cup of milk and warm cookies as we talk.

Sometimes “life” happens, days get busy, or I’m simply tired…but the cookies are baked and the connection takes place. It is a standing weekly date that is rarely missed and the time we share makes the cookies that much sweeter.

I often make the standard chocolate chip (her favorite), snickerdoodles (my favorite), oatmeal, chocolate cookies with mint-chocolate chips, or the occasional peanut butter just to keep things interesting. One Friday, the day was getting late when I noticed there was not enough flour in the house for even half a batch. Out of time to get to the store, I remembered my friend Donna’s cookie recipe that she makes from a cake mix. I had Ghirardelli Brownie Mix in the cupboard, so I decided to give Donna’s recipe a whirl. It worked like a charm and Ghirardelli Brownie Cookies were ready, right on schedule!

Ghirardelli Brownie Cookies

1 Ghirardelli brownie mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup oil
3 tablespoons flour (1/3 cup for high altitude)
1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, or nuts can be mixed-in (optional)

Mix flour into brownie mix. Slightly beat eggs with oil and mix in. The dough should be stiff like cookie dough. One recipe will make 24-30 cookies, depending on the size.

Bake at 350° for 10-11 minutes, depending on the size of the cookies, less if the cookies are 2″ or smaller. Let cookies rest on pan for 2 minutes, then cool on baking racks.

Shared with someone, they taste even better!

3 responses to “Friday Cookies

  1. I am not a cookie fan (that doesn’t mean I don’t eat them, I just don’t CRAVE them) but I think my wife would love these. I’m going to surprise her with a batch. I’ll let you know what she says.

  2. Pingback: Friday Cookies: Snickerdoodle | Savoring Today

  3. I just finished making these, and not only are they inexpensive, but incredibly quick to whip up and crazy delicious. I used a Betty Crocker mix and 1/4 cup of flour, and added walnuts to half the batter, and a mixture of chocolate & butterscotch chips to the other half. I can’t stop eating them. 🙂 Thanks so much for the recipe!

What do you think?

