Painted eggs / Oua vopsite (via Droopi’s everything but the kitchen sink): Feature Fridays

While browsing Friday Potluck this morning, these beautiful eggs caught my attention. I thought they looked like stained glass, reminded of a time when our kids gathered around cups of jewel-colored water or joined friends to make Ukrainian Easter eggs.  I can still see their faces, wide-eyed and ready to witness the transformation from egg to art.  This post by Droopi’s everything but the kitchen sink is not only unique and  beautiful, it is also bilingual—Enjoy!

Easter is coming and because on Black Thursday we always paint the eggs, today I made special time for this.  I guess everybody knows how to paint plain simple eggs (just follow the instructions) but in our family there is a tradition (well, it’s more of an aesthetic thing) to paint the eggs in onion leaves. The procedure is not hard at all, but it requires a little bit of patience. I’ll explain it, step by step how it’s done.Read More

I wasn’t sure about the safety of eating the eggs when using this technique, so I found a few natural and equally beautiful egg coloring techniques.

Dyeing Easter Eggs with Onion Skins

Recipe: Naturally-Dyed Easter Eggs

Recipe: Naturally-Dyed Easter Eggs

Dye Easter Eggs Naturally – A DIY Tutorial

Dye Easter Eggs Naturally – A DIY Tutorial

Have a wonderful Easter — He is Risen! He is Risen Indeed!

5 responses to “Painted eggs / Oua vopsite (via Droopi’s everything but the kitchen sink): Feature Fridays

  1. Hi! Wow, this is really truly a wonderful surprise! Thank you very much for your kind words. It is indeed a joy to dye Easter eggs and I must say my 2 year old kid was thrilled when he saw the colored eggs 😀
    As for the safety of the colors I ensure you that this procedure is perfectly safe and we have been using it for decades now; no one was harmed during the process :))
    So thank you again for this lovely article and hope to “see” you soon!

    • Hi Droopina, it was a pleasure to feature your blog today, thanks for stopping by. I was wondering about the dye you use, I couldn’t tell what brand it was from the package to research it myself. Folks are becoming more aware of food dyes in their food these days and I wasn’t sure if boiling the eggs in the dye made any difference in being able to eat them–thanks for clearing that up. Personally, we have never eaten the eggs we dye at Easter because they sit out for so long ;). Hope you have a wonderful Easter!

  2. The brand I used was a Romanian one, well known and used here.
    Hehe, our eggs don’t get to sit out long. It’s our tradition to have family contests in which you have to crack as many eggs of the other family members as possible so in about 3 days all egg are gone 😀
    And let me tell you another trick: don’t ever boil eggs longer than 10 min or their shells will crack and the dye will penetrate the egg; that’s the real problem. But with a little care you won’t have to worry; look at me, I’m still alive and kicking =))
    I wish you and all your viewers a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing Easter!

  3. I never knew there are diffent ways of dying an egg, I thought you just paint on it and presto!

  4. Pingback: Multumiri! / Thanks! « Droopi's everything but the kitchen sink

What do you think?

