Emeril’s Spicy Vegetable Coconut Curry: Main or Side Dish

Spicy Vegetable Coconut Curry

I braved the pouring rain yesterday running errands, which included a stop at Whole Foods for Emeril’s Spicy Vegetable Coconut Curry recipe. Oh, the stories I could tell about what goes on behind these lovely photos (and the stories my family could tell too!).  Sloshing shoes and all, it was worth it!  I love to hear the mmm’s and ooh’s at the dinner table, serving my family satisfying meals is one of my greatest pleasures. Emeril’s recipes have always made that easy, as I’ve followed Emeril Live and gleaned from his website for years.  To say it is a privilege to preview Sizzling Skillets and Other One-Pot Wonders and be part of The Secret Ingredient One-Pot Blogging Party is an understatement—I am having a blast!

Spice preference in our house ranges from “kick-it-all-the-way-up” to “I’ll take milk with that.”  I try to land somewhere in between with a dish like this—keeping some Sriracha near by for some, while avoiding a fire drill for others. The recipe called for seeded fresh chili, but since I could not find fresh I used dried.  There was no way to separate the seeds in the dried chilies, so adjustments were made for that too.  My husband, who likes it kicked-up, mentioned the chilies were “a bit naughty” when tasting a larger piece.  Yes, they certainly get your attention.

Ready to Simmer

Spicy Vegetable Coconut Curry is a lively vegetarian dish with fried tofu incorporating the subtleties of lemongrass and fresh ginger, which complement the red curry.  Instead of using tofu and serving it as a main dish, I served this beautiful kaleidoscope of vegetables as a side dish with rotisserie chicken and cilantro quinoa.  The simmering time enabled me to debone the chicken and fluff the quinoa with the cilantro, so dinner was a snap.  As the recipe suggested, a garnish of peanuts would be fabulous, but I could not pass up the shelled, roasted pistachios at Whole Foods—these smoky, earthy morsels put it over the top.  Drizzle some of the coconut curry sauce over the chicken and BAM! it’s dinnertime!

Main Dish or Side Dish

Click on the Photo for Pre-order Info

The variety of delicious recipes in this one cookbook is so appealing; you’ll go back to it again and again. 

Have you entered to win your own copy? Just click on the link below and follow the instructions.

Emeril’s Sizzling Skillets Giveaway: Enter Here To Win a Free Copy! 

16 responses to “Emeril’s Spicy Vegetable Coconut Curry: Main or Side Dish

  1. “Naughty” chiles? Oooh, baby 🙂 Pistachios are a much better choice than peanuts in my opinion. Wonder if they’ll take away my “made in Virginia” label for saying that?

  2. More spice? The more the merry I say! Kick it up and I’ll take a second helping. 🙂

  3. Wow, those flavors were incredible. Loved it with the quinoa and the very “naughty” chilies!

  4. So colorful! I love all the spice too.

  5. I’m not usually a huge fan of coconut, but it works in a curry. And you’ve got about as many sticky notes in that book as I do!

  6. It so look like the one on the cookbook, well done!

  7. If it tastes only half as good as it looks, you’ve got a winning dish here. Great recipe!

  8. The dish looks fantastic. I wouldn’t have thought to sub in the pistachios. Great call.

  9. What a gorgeous dish!! I definitely would love this one!!!

  10. I’m not a curry girl, but this looks great. Love your photos!

  11. This looks so terriffic. I love curry , veggies and coconut milk. Great combo!

  12. This looks fantastic!! I love curry!

  13. Pingback: One-Pot Blogger of the Week « The Secret Ingredient

  14. Pingback: The Celebration of Emeril’s One-Pot Wonders Continues! « The Secret Ingredient

  15. Pingback: Emeril’s “BLT” Risotto: Making Skillets Sizzle | Savoring Today

  16. Pingback: Tuscan White Bean Soup with Broccoli Rabe: One Last Stirring of the Pot | Savoring Today

What do you think?

