Green Chile Sauce Quest

I like challenges, especially when it is a food challenge levied by my husband.  There is no one on the planet I want to please more with efforts I bring to the dinner table.  From time to time, he will mention a meal he had while traveling or point to a recipe in a cooking magazine, requesting I replicate it.

The magazines don’t give me near the fit a fond dining experience does, though sometimes he provides a photo. Whether trying to match childhood memories of Grandma’s Molasses Cookies or the swoon-worthy Wagyu filet at a steakhouse in Phoenix, trying to recreate a dish or flavor experienced by someone else had can be daunting.  I do appreciate his unwavering confidence.

This brings us to Green Chile Sauce.  A couple of years ago while Matt was working in New Mexico, the stories of amazing green chile sauce started rolling in. Served on just about anything that would hold still, New Mexico Green Chile Sauce is known for its superior status.  Time and again, it drew him back to a small cafe for breakfast, and then lunch, for the chance to savor the saporous sauce.

I know, I’ve heard it before how easy green chile sauce is to make, but if that is so, why do so many taste flat, or lack depth?  With fresh green chilies, a few recipes (links below), and Matt’s savvy culinary memory to use as a guide, it’s time to rise to the challenge—make the best green chile sauce on the planet outside New Mexico (or maybe anywhere).  Somehow, so long as he believes I can, I am willing to try.

Beef and Green Chile Chili at Fine Cooking

New Mexico Breakfast and Green Chile Sauce at I love New Mexico

Traditional Style New Mexico Green Chile Sauce at Food.com

Green Chile Sauce at Great-Salso.com

New Mexico Green Chile Sauce Recipe at MJ’s Kitchen

Of course, your comments, suggestions, recipe hints are all welcome 🙂

11 responses to “Green Chile Sauce Quest

  1. Hi!! I just read this post. My husband and I Are big fans of new Mexico/green chile. We were in Santa Fe In august… They were in season, so we had about 20 25 pounds roasted before coming home!! I have some good recipes if you are interested. Leann Lindeman

  2. I have some in my freezer from last year. What is your favorite recipe?
    Thanks so much!
    Peg

    • I am planning to pull from the linked recipes (and consult my husband of course) to figure that out. When I know, I’ll be posting it here on Savoring Today 🙂

  3. Thanks for posting a link to my site! It’s so great to see so many chile lovers. I’ve been in NM for 35 years and had no idea our chile was so well known outside of the state. Of course, you know from my NM Chile series that I absolutely LOVE chile – both red and green! Thanks again! Great post!

  4. I love this sauce but for an added twist I usually grill the chillies first.

  5. Being in Utah I’m fortunate to have access to Green Chiles on a year around basis, especially right now. I’ll have to give a few of this recipes a try. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Oh this is such a great round up. I have faith in you!

  7. The mild kick from these New Mexico babies is to die for. I roast them first and flavor them with garlic and fresh lime squeeze to call all buritos nearby!

    Your husband’s gonna love what you will come up with. 🙂

What do you think?

